An Autumn weekend, a year ago

12 pm, It’s Friday and I just woke up, I should have woken earlier, have some work to do! I wash my hair, make my brunch and eat before going to my second house in Rochester: the VCD lab, where I spend hours using those overpriced beautiful creatures called Macs. – Now I own one.

Talked to mom and dad and they encourage me to stop being stingy and go to the winery tomorrow. At the trip office, I get a beautiful T-shirt that says “Class of 2017”, which I’m not.

By the way is hot. SO HOT! it’s supposed to be fall but the temperature is 23 degrees Celsius. I’m loving it, tank top and everything, My boyfriend loves my summer selfie, and my best friend jokes about how much skin I’m showing (My arms, WOW).

In just a few hours I’ll get free food – so many free-food-hunting around RIT, going to activities we don’t know in departments we’ll never be in just for the food… we are poor #cantaffordUSA – But this weekend it was legit, our program activity, and I had the opportunity to meet people from different programs: game design, computer science, and others from my own.

Finish your homework so we can go and eat some free pizza – She says.

At the end is not pizza, is cheese, meatballs, flatbread and art, so much art.

Afterward talk with a friend about writing, blogs, and sleep patterns. He recommends the use of offline Google docs and dim screen apps. I follow his advice.

9pm. Ready to go to another friend’s place and get some drinks – cold tea counts right? Tomorrow I’ll go to a winery so no alcohol for me today– After some, I have so much energy Johanna and we read beer cans with Japanese accent guys, we go to the arcade.

We play foosball, my best friend and I win every round. We play basketball. And I go from earning 4 points to 38. Horray!

Talk with my boyfriend afterward, he had his first week at his new job.

The bus is supposed to come at 1:30 am. We wait from 1:20 to 1:40. No bus. Walk or stay at this house? I don’t want to sleep in my jeans…  we are 5 extra people… but is so late and it got cold. One of the guests lend me shorts and the girls share the room while the guys sleep uncomfortably in sofas.


Saturday I wake up at 7 am, go home to take a shower and have breakfast. Take the bus to go to Gleason Circle and catch the bus to Three Brothers Winery. While we wait for the bus we eat breakfast pizza– is that a thing?– small muffins and juice. I’m going to the trip by myself and feel kind of shy. I say hello to a group of girls but they say hello and give me their backs, then I say hello to another group: two blonde girls, one red curly hair girl and one guy and they let me join their conversation. I spend the rest of the trip with them. Cool people.

We talked on the bus, and I started writing this on my phone.

We get to the winery, my first time in one, It’s a beautiful place. They give us “passports” and a glass, I don’t know where to go, so I follow the crowd. We get to a small cottage and go to what looks like a bar, There they check my “passport” and start the first round of wine tasting.  They all were sweet and nice.

https://www.instagram.com/p/BNAifwhgRdQ/?taken-by=johalopezta

We walk to the second cottage. Beautiful view and a big selection of wines. White, red, dry and sweet wines. I loved one of them and make a mental note to buy it to take home for Christmas.

Building three. Beers and hard ciders. I’m not a beer girl so I try one beer and 4 hard ciders. – So much has changed.

https://www.instagram.com/p/BNAi21_AlEF/?taken-by=johalopezta

Food and pictures break. We go to a beautiful scenery windy spot. We were freezing. Group guides tell us we will leave a little earlier because is going to rain.

Building four. Super sweet wines and slushies. The bartender was too quick, so we had to chuck our drinks, then I go to the store and buy the wine before getting on the bus.

I was falling asleep all the time on my way home. It was raining and cold. We reached Gleason Circle and group guides asked who wanted to take the leftover pizza home. I volunteered. And then my hands were freezing holding the big pizza box.

Went to my best friend’s place to watch series and eat pizza. Typical Saturday night. It felt so late but it was just 5 pm. – Typical Saturday night now, working on my thesis.

Went home. Video call with my boyfriend for hours. Time to sleep.


https://www.instagram.com/p/BNDZfwRgCxQ/?taken-by=johalopezta

Woke up at 12 pm it’s snowing like crazy. Laundry and procrastination till 4, it’s cold and I don’t know why I can’t manage to get any work done in my room. Take the bus to school planning to get to VCD lab. Stop at the coffee shop instead. Wrote articles while seeing the snow falling, till what seems like midnight, but it’s only 7 pm. This sun tricks my brain.

Deja un comentario